New Year, New Life

Beginning in December of 2012, my hubby, Andrew, and I decided that 2013 was going to be our new “beginning.” We were going to improve our selves totally, mind, body, soul, and wallet; and so far we have been doing well, all 12 days of 2013. I will explain how we are improving ourselves.

Mind:

This year we are being happier, and we are trying to communicate better. Having an almost 10 month old is one of the best things in the world, but it can be a bit stressful especially when that little one doesn’t want to sleep! So, we are going to bed earlier, and sleeping when our little one sleeps, which helps improve everyone’s moods.

Body:

We are exercising almost every day. Andrew plays basketball while he is on his lunch break or does weights in the gym at work. I usually put Caroline, our baby, in the stroller and walk to our complex’s gym and run a mile and do light weights, or if it isn’t nice outside, I do Blogilates and some basic exercises with my baby girl, who thinks it is the most fun! We also changed how we eat. We have always been “good” eaters, but this year we switched to eating Whole Foods. It is crazy at how much more energy we have had already with the combination of exercise and eating whole foods.

Soul:

God never forgets anyone no matter how far away his children have strayed. This year we have decided to get back to being close with God. My mother-in-law gave us a book, Experiencing God (by Henry and Richard Blackaby, and Claude V. King), which allows us to just take 15mins to a half an hour a day for a daily devotion, then we pray afterwards about things going on in our lives, or others who have asked for prayer. Our main goal is to listen to God, and do as He wishes us instead of doing what we, as humans, want to do. That is NOT an easy task for sure! but we are committed!

Wallet:

Finally, wallet. Andrew and I have always been savers, and thankfully we made it through college without taking any loans or having any debt in general, for that we are both very thankful. When we got married, we decided to read Dave Ramsey’s Total Money Makeover which Andrew had already read and I knew a little about. Once we had read it together, that was the beginning of us becoming “one” in our married relationship. We got through the first few baby steps and now we are on to saving for a house! So that is how we are improving ourselves financially this year, so that we can hopefully, within a year, buy a house. We have decided to put the money we want to save away at the beginning of the month instead of waiting until the month’s end to put what we have left into saving. This puts a bit more pressure on the savings aspect. I think of saving money on groceries and other items like a game. I see what coupons I can use and see what deals are going on. That is how I view it.

As I post (or sometimes my hubby when he wants to), I will update on how we are doing, and post recipes that I sometimes create, or crochet projects, or other crafting projects, etc. You will never know what I might just post!

2 thoughts on “New Year, New Life

  1. 🙂 Love your blog — and of course, your family is very close to our hearts. I can’t think of a better description of “wellness” — and I know that if we honor God, He will bless us in all these areas of our lives.

    — Love, Mom

    • Thanks, mom! Andrew and I have enjoyed reading your blog, as I told you yesterday. In our blog we will describe how we become “well” in all areas and your blog helps us do that with our “soul” portion of our lives 😉

Leave a Reply

