Sweet and Savory Kielbasa

I am not a person who cooks a lot of meat items, but since I am a wife with a hubby who has “meat” needs, I will cook a meat item once or twice a week. Kielbasa is the one sausage that I have loved ever since I was a child. I have always eaten it with fried potatoes and ketchup. Yep, that is my combo! So good.

Usually after that specific meal, I leave the dinner table feeling very heavy. So, to appease my hubby and my veggie loving self (my hubby loves veggies too, not to give the wrong impression) and my baby girl, I put a new twist on the traditional recipe.

 

Sweet and Savory KielbasIMG_5405

Ingredients: 2 russet potatoes and one medium sweet potato cubed. 1 fairly large Vidalia onion sliced, 3 or 4 big handfuls of organic baby carrots, two Kielbasas of  your choice coined, minced garlic, cumin, coriander, and salt.

IMG_5408

Saute 1/2 Tbs of garlic in olive oil.

IMG_5409

add the potatoes and carrots. Place the cover on and cook for about 10 minutes while stirring occasionally.

IMG_5410

This is what they should look like.

IMG_5412

Add the onion.

IMG_5413

Once the onion has cooked down a little bit, add the Kielbasa, 1/2 tsp cumin and 1/2 tsp coriander.

IMG_5417

Salt to taste and serve!

Sweet and Savory Kielbasa:

Ingredients:

– 1/2 Tbs minced garlic
–  Olive Oil
– 2 russet potatoes, peeled and cubed
– 1 medium sweet potato, peeled and cubed
– 3 or 4 large handfuls of organic baby carrots
– 1 fairly large Vidalia onion, sliced
– 2 Kielbasas of choice, coined
– 1/2 tsp Cumin
– 1/2 tsp Coriander
– Salt to taste

Directions:

Add about 3 Tbs of olive oil to a large skillet with the minced garlic. Saute about 30 sec over med high heat. Add potatoes and carrots. Cover and cook for about 10 minutes while stirring occasionally. Add onion and cook down for about a minute. Add Kielbasa, cumin and coriander. Cook until onions are sauteed and Kielbasa is completely heated through. Salt to taste.

Let me know how you liked this recipe! If you have any suggestions I would love to know them. Hope you enjoy =)

 

 

Leave a Reply

