Quinoa Fajita Stuffing

In my extensive search for creating a meal that is filled with nutrients and tasty (a.k.a. staring into my refrigerator until an idea pops into my brain), somewhere the idea of quinoa fajitas came around.  Both my hubby and I really enjoyed this meal, and so did our 15month-er.

A little bit of a back story, since yesterday was my first day at being 100% vegan, I was a bit stumped when it came to dinner time. Like I have said before, I have always used some type of cheese or yogurt product when making dinner, but since we officially found out what my little girl is allergic/sensitive to, vegan it is! Any way, I had this beautiful meal in my brain (key words) planned out, I was going to make quinoa fajitas, with guacamole and salsa, and as a side I was going to ‘veganize’ a recipe for a bloomin’ onion that I found, and then I was going to make up a vegan dip for the onion.

It all looked beautiful, as you will see in the final picture, and all but the vegan dip tasted yummy. The fajitas were delicious, but I couldn’t make the guacamole because the avocados weren’t ripe enough. The bloomin’ onion was good, but somehow the onion itself needed to be cooked a little longer without burning and all the crumbs fell off the peddles since I didn’t use an egg wash. And last but not least, I attempted to make a “creamy” sauce, but since my little one is allergic to coconut and soy, well, it just didn’t taste very good.

But! I will tell you how I did the quinoa fajitas and hopefully if you make this meal, all your other sides will turn out a lot better than mine did 😉

Quinoa Fajita Stuffing:

IMG_5475

Ingredients: 3/4 cup dry quinoa, 1 1/2 cups vegetable stock (or water if you wish), 1Tbs olive oil, 1 tsp minced garlic, 1 sweet onion sliced, 3 or 4 small sweet peppers, and at least 2 tsp taco seasoning with option to add more to taste.

IMG_5477

First step is to pour vegetable stock (or water) in a small sauce pan and add quinoa. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer until all liquid has been absorbed. About 20 minutes.

IMG_5478

In a skillet, add olive oil and garlic and saute until fragrant, about 3o secs. Add onion and sliced sweet peppers, and saute until onions are caramelized and peppers are soft.

IMG_5482

Once quinoa has been cooked, add 2tsp of taco seasoning, or more if you desire.

IMG_5488

Mix in your veggies and serve with guacamole, beans, salsa, lime wedges, or anything you wish!
(and obviously tortillas)

Quinoa Fajita Stuffing:

Ingredients:

  • 3/4 cup dry quinoa
  • 1 1/2 cups vegetable broth or water
  • 1 Tbs olive oil
  • 1 tsp garlic
  • 1 sweet onion, sliced
  • 3 or 4 small sweet peppers, sliced
  • 2 tsp taco seasoning + more if desired  — recipe here

Directions:

  • In a small sauce pan, add quinoa and vegetable broth (or water). Bring it to a boil then reduce to a simmer until all liquid has been absorbed. About 20mins.
  • In a skillet, add olive oil and garlic and saute until fragrant, about 30 secs. Add onion, and sweet peppers and saute until onions have caramelized and peppers have softened.
  • Once quinoa has completed cooking, add 2tsp taco seasoning or more to taste.

Ideas to serve with:

  • guacamole
  • 3 minute salsa
  • tomatoes
  • Tofutti
  • lime wedges
  • black beans
  • or any other yumminess you can think of =)
Leave a Reply

