Cheesy Quinoa Stuffed Avocados

Yes, cheese is in the title of this one, BUT it’s vegan 😉 This is a favorite dish of mine and my hubby. Not only are the avocados stuffed, you will leave feeling stuffed yourself, but guilt free since they are all healthy-good ingredients!

I will confess, there is a lack of photos documenting this meal. It really is more of a guideline instead of an actual recipe. I usually make them towards the end of the week and I use all the leftovers from prior meals in it.

So here it is, the recipe or guideline of one 😉

Cheesy Quinoa Stuffed Avocados:

IMG_5509

Ingredients:

fills 3 avocados

  • 1/2 cup cooked quinoa
  • 1 tsp minced garlic
  • 1/4 cup cooked peas and/or corn
  • 1/2 cup cooked beans (your choice. In this particular meal I used 1/4 cup Great Norther and 1/4 cup Black)
  • 1/2 cup Daiya Cheese (your choice of mozzarella or cheddar style shreds)
  • salt to taste
  • 3 avocados, halved, pitted and meat taken out of skin

Directions:

  • Mix all ingredients except avocados in a small microwavable bowl, or a small sauce pan. Heat it up in either sauce pan or microwave until cheese has melted.
  • Once cheese has melted, stuff the avocados.
  • Place in oven safe dish and warm up the avocados in oven, or microwave them just until warm.
  • Plate and serve

I serve mine over a bed of “re-fried” beans, link here, and top it off with some 3 minute salsa. Can we say yummy! Oh I wish I could eat some more of this right now…too bad it has been all eaten up!

I have also mixed in sauteed mushroom, sundried tomatoes, bread crumbs, onion…etc, etc…point being I have mixed this so many ways and they have all been wonderful!

Let me know how you like it or any way you would improve it! I love hearing new ideas, so make it your own =)

Leave a Reply

