My Sister’s 20th Birthday

I thought it would be good to finally show you all my crafty side =)

My BABY sister turned 20 this month!?!?! Crazy! My poor parents (or lucky depending on how you look at it) don’t have any more teenagers. It being a pretty big birthday, I thought I would do something a little bigger and nicer than any other present I usually create for her.

She likes those adorable owls that seem to be so popular, and I have been itching to craft something with them. So what did I do? I took a patter that I had for a blanket and turned it into a bag =) So not technically my original “technique” but my design…I guess.

IMG_5760

My sister with her favorite niece (lol her only niece) about to open her birthday present!

IMG_5764

The present is a crochet oversize-overnight bag! Boy what a project when you have a 1 year old, but I liked the results.

IMG_5769

Oh…also got her some Buffalo Wild Wings Spicy Garlic sauce, her favorite 😉

IMG_5773

Just seeing how big the bag is actually haha!

IMG_5775

And the complete project. I sewed a material lining on the inside. It was to challenging to get a picture of the inside.

Here is the pattern to the blanket that I transformed into a bag:
http://www.craftsy.com/pattern/crocheting/home-decor/owl-obsession/32587

I increased the size of the hook and used two strands of yarn at a time. I didn’t use the big circle motif that they used in the pattern, and because of that I had to make up my own edging for the top and obviously I had to make up the handles. But It was fun and rewarding. =) My sister at least seemed to like it, so she is either very good at masking her dislike or it was an honest reaction. Hoping for the first!

Crocheting is a passion of mine, and when I have free time that is one of the things I most enjoy! What types of hobbies do you like to do in your free time? =)

Leave a comment