The BEST Buttermilk Biscuits you ever will eat!

I said it! I really did! And if you make these biscuits you will have to agree with me. These are 100% the best buttermilk biscuits you ever will eat whether you make them vegan, as I did, or not. [Just so you know, if you make these  vegan for a crowd, they will not be able to tell that they are, trust me!]

This is one of those recipes that was passed down from my mother’s best friend’s grandma. Got that? 😉 I would always ask for Robin’s (my mom’s friend) biscuits when she came to spend the weekend with us. One day, when we went down to visit Robin, my mom finally learned how to make them! Oh joyous Saturday morning breakfast from then on!

Everyone kept asking my mom for the recipe to her delicious biscuits, and very graciously, my mom sent out an email that detailed every step of how to make them. So here are the steps, very detailed, in picture form from me! Huh, maybe together my mom and I could be writer/photographer for a step-by-step recipe book =)

So here we are.

The BEST Buttermilk Biscuits you ever will eat:

IMG_5809

What you will need:

  • 2 1/4 cup Soy milk or your choice of milk, just make sure it is capable of being turned into “buttermilk”
  • 2 1/4 Tbs Vinegar,
  • 3 1/2 cup flour +extra for the counter,
  • 4 3/4 tsp Baking Powder
  • 1 3/4 tsp salt
  • 1 Tbs sugar
  • 1 cup Crisco
  • 1/2 cup Earth Balance or choice of butter option

– Mix the soy milk and the vinegar, whisk well and set to the side (curls to form a buttermilk)

IMG_5811 A

Place butter in a 13X9 pan then place the pan in the oven as it heats up to 375. But remember to take it out after about 5 minutes, it’s just so the butter can melt. Set the pan to the side.

IMG_5811

Now, you can use a self rising flour, but I don’t have any. It is very easy to make your own, which is what I did in this recipe.

IMG_5814

Mix your flour, baking powder, salt, and sugar together.

IMG_5816

Next, what you will need is a pastry cutter, or fork and knife if you don’t have one.

IMG_5818

Cut the Crisco into the flour mixture. Lumps are OKAY! Just make sure you get to the very bottom of the flour mixture as well.

IMG_5819

Make a “well” in the center of your flour mixture.

IMG_5821

Pour your “buttermilk” into the center of the well.

IMG_5823

Slowly take a spoon and drag the flour from the edge through the center to the other edge. Just until the wet has cut through all the dry. Don’t over do it so your biscuits will be fluffy!

IMG_5824

Prepare a floured surface.

IMG_5825

Push dough out into the shape of a 13×9 pan with your fingers. (make sure your hands are VERY well floured)

IMG_5829

Slip your well floured hand underneath one side, flip it to the center. Repeat with other three sides.

*note. The dough is supposed to be really wet. Don’t think you have done something wrong or forgot an ingredient

IMG_5830

Press the dough back out into a 13×9 shape again.

IMG_5831

Using a biscuit cutter, or what ever circle cutter you have, use all the dough to cut 15 circles.

IMG_5832

As you are placing your cut biscuits into the melted butter pan, flip them in the butter to coat the top and bottom.

IMG_5835

Bake them in the 375degree oven for 15 minutes, rotate the pan and bake them for an additional 8-11 minutes. Just watch them to make sure they won’t burn.

IMG_5841

And enjoy! Here I have them with my momma’s homemade strawberry jam. Let’s just say that right after the photo was taken, my subjects quickly disappeared 😉

Hope you enjoy them as much as we do! Makes breakfast for dinner amazing!!!!

2 thoughts on “The BEST Buttermilk Biscuits you ever will eat!

Leave a comment